top of page
  • Writer's pictureLarry

My Manifest Destiny and the Ghosts I Hope To Find

So, for those active on either Discord or Twitter, you may have noticed that I was not very active over the extended Labor Day Weekend. This is even more strange when you consider that a lot of big developments took place for our show. We got approved to be on Spotify which is awesome. They are very picky when it comes to who they let post on their site, so to be approved is amazing! Justin and I are working behind the scenes to coordinate with Shudder to co-advertise which will allow us to reach a larger audience who loves horror just like us. And most special to me, Discord user @ssegrum has become our first Patron! The idea that someone is willing to financially support this passion project of ours is so foreign to me that it doesn’t seem real. We have some ideas of what to do to as a special thank you to him, so keep your eyes out for that.

But with all these big things happening, where was I? I was not there to thank him on either forum, even though I have since. I was not there to celebrate with Justin these amazing developments for our podcast. So again, where was I? My fiancé and I spent the long weekend in Salt Lake City, Utah where she and I are moving at the end of the year! My fiancé got into the University of Utah’s School of Business for grad school and I will hopefully be continuing my career in cancer research at the Huntsman Cancer Institute.

This has been a dream of mine for a long time. There is something about the mountains that call to me. I also promised myself that I would not live my life in Ohio. Nothing all that wrong with Ohio, but there is something sad to me to think that this world is so big that I never left further than a three-hour drive from the house I grew up in. My fiancé has supported me in my goals, which I am eternally grateful. I have lost over sixty pounds since January to be in the shape I will need to be in to snowboard and hike the mountains that will soon loom over me. So in between interviews, job hunting and sightseeing my phone was neglected and things fell through the social media cracks. But know I was aware, and thankful for it all! Also, huge thank you to Justin for handling all the editing himself and making sure no one felt neglected in my absence!!

But, this blog is not my f*****g diary and I am not here to get mushy and sentimental. You come here to read about horror! So, do I have a doozy for you this week. My fiancé and I were walking around downtown Salt Lake when we came across someone doing ghost tours. I was immediately intrigued, and then quickly let down when I found out that it was sold out. There was one big draw for the tour, and her name is the “Purple Lady”. The Purple Lady is a ghost who supposedly haunts the Rio Grande Depot and Rio Grande Café since 1910. Her story is a tragic one, that shows how badly a toxic relationship can get. The Purple Lady was arguing with her fiancé in the late 19th century beside the railroad tracks, waiting on a train to take them to California. She and her fiancé were fighting, and he took her engagement ring and threw it down on the tracks. He told her to go and get it, and if she couldn’t find it, then she could just stay behind in Utah. She climbed down in her purple formal dress to hunt down the ring. Her fiancé went into the train station to get a drink, not caring at all at the peril he put her in. After several minutes of searching, she could not find her ring. She then heard the train. She refused to come out of the trains way, because she hadn’t found the ring. Even when the tracks started to rumble she refused the calls from the crowd to climb out, because she had not found the ring. And in her final moments, as the train crashed upon her, she never once thought to climb out and save herself, because she hadn’t found the ring. It is said her fiancé got on the next train to California and never looked back. And in his pocket, the ring he had lied about throwing down on the tracks. Now the Purple Lady haunts the Rio Grande Station. She roams the tracks and the Café, searching for the ring to have her fiancé love her once more. She will never know the evil trick he played on her, and how her search is in vain.

This story is one that I hadn’t heard before, and I have heard my fair share of ghost stories. Not only does it have the terrible sadness accompanying most ghost stories in this vein, but the idea that her fiancé set her up to meet her doom truly disturbs me. We hear a lot of stories in our current culture that makes me truly believe that a story like this could actually happen. It is one of the biggest reasons why I hate seeing The Joker and Harley Quinn becoming “#relationshipgoals”. Abusive relationships should be shut down immediately, because they inevitably end up like this. I do plan on trying to go and see the Purple Lady, and if I do happen to run into her, I hope that I can help her find the peace that was so cruelly taken from her.

Sorry that this post was shorter than usual. Lots of traveling and time changes and prepping for work that I neglected while away took my focus away from this. But like I talk about on the podcast and in the first post, I will write every Tuesday. Even if no one reads. It is important to me. Hopefully you enjoyed this peek behind the veil into my life and the troubling story of the Purple Lady.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page